PMDRF – Prime Minister’s Rural Development Fellowship

The Ministry of Home Affairs has identified 60 districts of the country as Left Wing Extremism (LWE) districts. The Government of India has launched a special programme in these districts called Integrated Action Plan (IAP). On 13th of September, Union Minister of Rural Development Mr. Jairam Ramesh announced a scheme of PM’s Rural Development Fellows (PMDRF), for deploying young professionals in each of the IAP districts to assist the District Collector.

Prime Minister’s Rural Development Fellowship is an excellent opportunity for committed young people to contribute to enhancing development and welfare of the people in rural and tribal areas of the country.  It is envisaged that the selection and training process and intensive development facilitation work at the village, block and district level as PMRDF will provide an exceptional growth potential.

Eligibility Criteria

The eligibility criteria would be:

Must be 21-30 years old
Must be a postgraduate in Social Science/ Science/ Management or a graduate in Law/ Engineering/ Medicine
Knowledge of hindi and a local language used in an IAP district is desirable.
Work experiemce is preferred

Method of Selection

Candidates will be shortlisted on the basis of their qualifications and experience. Selection will be on the basis of the written synopsis; group discussions and interviews will be used to test the candidateʼs motivation, leadership, social and negotiating skills.


The selected candidates will go through a three-month intensive training course including a 4 week internship in the preferred district.

Duration of Posting:

The fellows will be appointed for a period of two years on a fixed contract, extendable for one more year based on performance. The PMRDF will be offered an attractive compensation that would include HRA, health insurance and other support.

Place of Posting Click here

How to apply: apply online.

To Apply online click here

Important dates
Application deadline: December 4, 2011
Shortlisted candidates will be announced: December 23, 2011

For more details click here

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *